Saturday 19 Apr 2021
The New Saints 3
Llanelli AFC 0
Match report
Full list of fixtures
Tuesday 29 Apr 2021
TNS Reserves 0
Aberystwyth Reserves 4
Monday 05 May 2021
Llanfyllin Town
Kick-off: 14:30
Full list of fixtures
Alfie Carter 11
Michael Wilde 11
John Toner 10
Scott Ruscoe 10
Jamie Wood 9
Luke Holden 6
Llanelli AFC 85
The New Saints 78
Rhyl FC 69
Port Talbot Town 59
Bangor City 55
Carmarthen Town 54
Neath Athletic 54
Haverfordwest County 47
Aberystwyth Town 46
Welshpool Town 46
Airbus UK Broughton 42
NEWI Cefn Druids 38
Newtown AFC 37
Caernarfon Town 36
Connah's Quay Nomads 34
Porthmadog FC 27
Caersws FC 26
Llangefni Town 24
Full league table
Aberystwyth Reserves 72
TNS Reserves 65
Newtown Reserves 56
Bow Street 51
Newbridge 50
Tywyn Bryncrug 49
Berriew 45
Llanrhaeadr 41
Full league table
AFTER running one club short in 2006/7, the Welsh Premier - the national league of Wales - kicked-off season 2007/8 restored to 18 clubs with the promotion of Llangefni Town (champions of the Cymru Alliance) and Neath Athletic (champions of the Welsh League Division One), both for the first time. Inaugural champions in 1992/3, Cwmbran Town were relegated after 15 unbroken seasons in the league.
The previous season, bottom club Cardiff Grange Quins had elected to resign from the league after struggling throughout much of the campaign, Welsh League champions Goytre United declined the chance to move up and runners-up Neath Athletic were unable to meet the ground criteria.
Despite a late bid, their application was rejected by the clubs. Neither of the top two clubs in the Cymru Alliance had applied for promotion, thus 17th placed Cwmbran survived in the top flight, despite a 13-point deduction for fielding ineligible players.
In 2006, the clubs voted that only one club should be relegated the following season, to restore the league to an even number.
There is no route for promotion from the Welsh Premier, although the champion side is entered in the Uefa Champions League, with two clubs entered in the Uefa Cup (one of which is the Welsh Cup winners) and one in the InterToto Cup.
Although only one club has been relegated in recent seasons, two clubs are normally demoted, to be replaced by the champions or runners-up of the Welsh League (south Wales) and the Cymru Alliance (north and mid Wales).
This is provided those clubs have applied for membership of the Welsh Premier and meet the League's ground and infrastructure criteria.
The league is sponsored by the Principality Building Society for three years starting from season 2006/7.
• Total Network Solutions changed their name to The New Saints in June 2006.
© The New Saints FC | 2003-8