Sunday, June 03, 2012

Saints' quintet voted into league dream team

NO less than five players from The New Saints have been voted into the Welsh Premier team of the season by the league managers for 2011/12.

Central defender Steve Evans, wingback Chris Marriott, midfielders Aeron Edwards and Craig Jones, and leading scorer Greg Draper are all named.
It is the first time for seven years that seven-times Golden Boot winner Rhys Griffiths is not named in the dream team, after being edged out by Bangor City's burly frontman Les Davies, who hit 16 league goals this season.
The starting eleven is completed by defenders Kai Edwards (Neath) and Stuart Jones (Llanelli), midfielder Mark Jones (Bala Town) and goalkeeper Lee Idzi (Bangor City).
Alex Darlington was included in the substitute nominations along with Lee Kendall (Neath), Jack Lewis (Neath), Michael Johnston (Bangor City), Chris Venables (Llanelli) and Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli).

Stadium details

Burma Road
Oswestry SY11 4AS
Tel: 01691 684840
By road
Leave the A5 at the junction with the A495 Whittington Road. Burma Road is the first major turning on the left and is signposted Park Hall. The ground is another 400 yards on your right.
Enter postcode SY11 4AS
By rail
Nearest station is Gobowen (2 miles).
By bus
Service from Oswestry.

Ask the club

Use this form to ask the club a question, we will endeavour to answer your question quickly either through the website or the match-day programme. Thank you for supporting The New Saints FC.