Wednesday, May 05, 2010
Share on facebook

Four Saints in team of the season

FOUR players from The New Saints have been named in the Welsh Premier team of the season.

The league managers voted for right-back Danny Holmes (pictured) and centre back Steve Evans, who played in the TNS defence that conceded just 13 league goals all season, alongside influential midfielder Scott Ruscoe and wingman Craig Jones, who scored eight goals.
Four players from rising stars Port Talbot Town were also selected - keeper Lee Kendall, full-back Scott Barrow, midfielder Liam McCreesh and striker Martin Rose.
Centre back Michael Johnston from Welsh Cup winners Bangor City partners Evans at the heart of the defence, while Aberystwyth's Geoff Kellaway and the Welsh Premier's five-times Golden Boot award winner Rhys Griffiths of Llanelli complete the line-up.
Holmes makes it into the dream team in his first season at Park Hall, while Ruscoe and Evans both re-appear after an absence of four years, both having been named in the side three seasons running from 2004 to 2006.
Craig Jones was selected for the first time last season while with Rhyl and retains his place.
The team: Lee Kendall; Danny Holmes, Steve Evans, Michael Johnston, Scott Barrow; Craig Jones, Scott Ruscoe, Liam McCreesh, Geoff Kellaway; Martin Rose and Rhys Griffiths.
Substitutes: Lee Idzi (Haverfordwest County), Ryan Edwards (Airbus UK Broughton), Stuart Jones (Llanelli), Paul Fowler (Carmarthen Town), Marc Connolly (Rhyl), Jamie Reed (Bangor City).

More TNS Headlines

  • 1
  • 2