Friday, November 19, 2010
Share on facebook

Saints in record-breaking league cup win

THE New Saints will defend the Loosemores League Cup in the final against Llanelli after a facile 12-1 aggregate win over Bangor City.

Leading 9-0 from the first leg at Park Hall, the Saints went a goal down at Farrar Road when Alan Bull sent a deflected 20-yarder past keeper Paul Harrison.
But Matthew Berkeley levelled in the 73rd-minute, Scott Ruscoe added another from the penalty spot and Jamie Wood sealed the win two minutes from time.

Bangor 1-3 The New Saints

Bull 13'
72' Berkeley
83' Ruscoe(p)
89' Wood
Ref M Petch
Att 130
The aggregate score was the highest in the competition's 19-year history, eclipsing Carmarthen's 10-3 rout of Llanelli six years ago, as TNS became the first side to win at Farrar Road this season.
Rhys Griffiths scored two late goals to seal the Reds' passage to the final and a 4-1 aggregate win over Aberystwyth Town.
Photo: Scott Ruscoe put the Saints in front from the penalty spot.

More TNS Headlines

  • 1
  • 2