Apycom Java Applets
ALL 18 Welsh Premier clubs have submitted their applications for a National Club Licence for next season.
The clubs will undergo a continual assessment by the FAW's licensing staff, John Deakin and Andrew Howard, until a decision is made whether or not to grant a Licence at a meeting of the Licensing First Instance Body, which is scheduled for 11 April 2005.
Only five clubs were successful in obtaining the licence this season - Aberystwyth, Haverfordwest, Newtown Rhyl and TNS.
However, the licence must be renewed, so the five clubs must go through the process once again.
Club licensing officer Howard says it was evident during the first round of licensing that most clubs were fairly advanced when it came to the sporting, personnel and legal criteria.
"However, the major stumbling block was inevitably the infrastructure criteria which demands 1,000 seats and also the financial criteria," says Howard.
"The strict financial regulations state that audited accounts must be produced by an independent auditor, which until the introduction of licensing hasn’t been the case with the majority of clubs in the Welsh elite."
27 September 2021
WP News archive