Saints-Alive! The Total Network Solutions Football Club website
Total Network Solutions FC squad and stat attack
Change:  Move to:
Apr 13th 2005 at 19:30 Richmond Park Attendance 417
Carmarthen Town
0 - 1
The New Saints
Match report WELSH PREMIER

A jubilant skipper John Leah and goalkeeper Ged Doherty (ever-present during the campaign) lift the Welsh Premier trophy aloft.
Click for more photos
Saints claim title glory

TNS clinched their second-ever Welsh Premier League title amidst scenes of jubilation at Richmond Park.
The Saints beat Carmarthen Town 1-0 to ensure they claimed the championship trophy with two league games left to play.
Inevitably it was prolific striker Marc Lloyd-Williams who grabbed the winning goal, seizing on a 40th minute chance after being released by Michael Wilde to fire past Tony Pennock via the inside of the post.
It was a thoroughly deserved win after TNS had survived a bright start by the home side in which Gerard Doherty saved from Mark Dodds, although Jiws almost snatched the lead from a corner soon afterwards.
Michael Wilde miscued after a good run along the byline with his shot ending up closer to the dugout than the back of the net and Carmarthen survived an early second-half scare when Gary Lloyd was forced to clear off the line.
As the second-half wore on, Carmarthen were restricted to mainly long range efforts with Neil Smothers and Lloyd going the closest and Saints' boss Ken McKenna protected his side’s lead by bringing on defender Colin Bell for Wilde and debutante Michael Jackson late on for Jiws.
The Carmarthen crowd were generous in their appreciation as skipper John Leah received the trophy from league secretary John Deakin, knowing that Saints' success had also guaranteed them a Uefa Cup place.
The success comes five years after the last TNS league title and ends three seasons of heartbreak in which they were runners-up to Barry Town twice and Rhyl last year.
Referee: D C Richards

None Marc Lloyd Williams (40)
Starting line-ups
Tony Pennock
Luke Hardy
Gary Lloyd
Richard Carter
Eston Chiverton
Neil Smothers
Leyton Maxwell
Richard Kennedy
Martin Giles
Mark Dodds
Jeff Aspell
Gerard Doherty
Chris King
Steve Evans
Tommy Holmes
Chris Taylor
Scott Ruscoe
John Leah
Marc Lloyd Williams
Michael Wilde
John Toner
Jamie Wood
Nicky Burke
Nathan Cotterrall
Kevin Aherne-Evans
Michael Jackson
Colin Bell
John Lawless
Nicky Burke -> Mark Dodds (58)
Nathan Cotterrall -> Jeff Aspell (58)
Abdillahi -> Luke Hardy (67)
Colin Bell -> Michael Wilde (79)
John Lawless -> Jamie Wood (88)
Michael Jackson -> Marc Lloyd Williams (89)
None None
None None
Powered by tplSoccerStats 2.2 © 2003 TPL Design
NOTE: For comparison purposes, teams are referred to throughout all seasons by their current names.
Substitute minutes of 99 indicate actual times not known.
The New Saints played as Total Network Solutions from 1997 to end of season 2005/6.
NEWI Cefn Druids played as Flexsys Cefn Druids prior to 2003/4.
Port Talbot Town played as Port Talbot Athletic prior to 2001/2.
Total Network Solutions played as Llansantffraid FC prior to 1997/8.
Match-by-match player stats for season 1993/4 are largely unavailable.