Saints-Alive! The Total Network Solutions Football Club website
Total Network Solutions FC squad and stat attack
Change:  Move to:
Feb 1st 2006 at 19:00 Racecourse Ground Attendance 1161
Wrexham 3 - 3
(5 - 4 PEN)
The New Saints
Match report FAW PREMIER CUP / Semi-final

Chris King consoles Gerard Doherty after the final penalty [Phil Blagg].
Click for more photos
Cruel penalty exit for Saints

TNS suffered the cruellest of exits from the Premier Cup after going down 5-4 in a penalty shoot out at the Racecourse.
They twice had a foot in the final in normal time and twice more held the upper hand in the spot kick contest, but keeper Gerard Doherty struck a forlorn figure as his final penalty was saved as Saints ran out of fit men to take the kicks.
TNS opened brightly and should have taken a ninth minute lead when Michael Jackson found Jamie Wood unmarked at the far post, but he could only direct his header at keeper Mike Ingham.
But when Wrexham forced their first corner in the 24th minute, it took a great save by Doherty to keep out a Sam Williams header. The impressive Andy Holt fizzed a shot across the face of goal, but it was Saints who took the lead after a defensive blunder by Dave Bayliss. His poor back pass was seized by Steven Beck, who laid the ball back for Scott Ruscoe to fire into the net.
Dennis Lawrence curled a shot over the bar after the restart, while Mike Wilde's header was too weak to test Ingham.
The Reds threw Lawrence up front alongside half-time sub Juan Ugarte as they struggled to make an impact but it was TNS who forged the best chance as Beck found himself in the clear, but dragged his shot wide of the far post.
It proved something of a turning point as, roared on by the home support, Wrexham poured forward and were rewarded with a superb 25-yarder from Mike Jones.
Undeterred, TNS fought back and, with four minutes left, Ruscoe's break from midfield ended with a defence splitting pass to sub Nicky Ward, who curled a brilliant shot into the far corner.
Celebrations were premature as a Danny Williams chip over the top found Ugarte who lobbed Doherty to force the tie into extra-time.
The Dragons went in front when Dennis Lawrence scored, but another mistake at the back led to a leveller for TNS. Pejic's back pass put Ingham in trouble and hs clearing header from outside the box fell to the magnificent Steve Evans, who sent a 30-yarder into the empty goal.
Tired legs on both sides made the penalty shoot-out a roller coaster affair, but saves from Doherty gave TNS two chances to make the final. Chris King sent his over the bar, but Michael Jackson was only denied by a superb Ingham save.
Wrexham's ninth penalty from Pejic put pressure on Doherty and his weakly struck effort never looked likely to deny Wrexham a place in the final.
Referee: Mark Whitby

Mark Jones (78)
Juan Ugarte (89)
Dennis Lawrence (101)
Scott Ruscoe (39)
Nicky Ward (86)
Steve Evans (105)
Starting line-ups
Mike Ingham
Jim Whitley
Alex Smith
Dave Bayliss
Dennis Lawrence
Andy Holt
Danny Williams
Jon Walters
Dean Bennett
Mark Jones
Sam Williams
Gerard Doherty
Chris King
Steve Evans
Tommy Holmes
Michael Jackson
Scott Ruscoe
Steven Beck
Barry Hogan
Michael Wilde
Graham Evans
Jamie Wood
Mike Jones
Matt Crowell
Shaun Pejic
Simon Spender
Juan Ugarte
Lee Williams
John Leah
Nicky Ward
Marc Lloyd Williams
John Toner
Juan Ugarte -> Sam Williams (46)
Simon Spender -> Dean Bennett (52)
Shaun Pejic -> Jon Walters (58)
Nicky Ward -> Graham Evans (60)
John Leah -> Tommy Holmes (74)
Marc Lloyd Williams -> Michael Wilde (91)
None Barry Hogan (68)
None None
Powered by tplSoccerStats 2.2 © 2003 TPL Design
NOTE: For comparison purposes, teams are referred to throughout all seasons by their current names.
Substitute minutes of 99 indicate actual times not known.
The New Saints played as Total Network Solutions from 1997 to end of season 2005/6.
NEWI Cefn Druids played as Flexsys Cefn Druids prior to 2003/4.
Port Talbot Town played as Port Talbot Athletic prior to 2001/2.
Total Network Solutions played as Llansantffraid FC prior to 1997/8.
Match-by-match player stats for season 1993/4 are largely unavailable.