Saints-Alive! The Total Network Solutions Football Club website
Match report and stats
Change:  Move to:
Jan 29th 2005 at 14:30 Recreation Ground Attendance 740
Caersws FC
0 - 0
Total Network Solutions
Match report WELSH PREMIER

Jimmy Aggrey follows in Steve Evans' header that was disallowed
Click for more photos
Saints denied by offside decision

A CONTROVERSIAL and baffling last-minute decision cost Saints a deserved victory against title rivals Caersws.
Scott Ruscoe was felled on the edge of the box and from his free-kick Steve Evans headed cleanly past Bluebirds' keeper Andy Mulliner.
But referee Paul Thomas ruled that Jimmy Aggrey, who followed the ball over the line but did not touch it, was off-side, leaving the points shared.
After the game, Thomas said Aggrey had "momentum" towards the ball, but it was difficult to see how he could have been deemed to be interfering with play.
It was rough justice on TNS who were also denied a first-half penalty when Colin Reynolds felled Marc Lloyd-Williams in the box.
They dominated the game for long periods, although the quality of their final ball let them down.
Barry Hogan burst into the box early on only to see his shot saved and Ruscoe set up Jamie Wood to cross for Mike Wilde to head over.
Marc Lloyd-Williams was also off-target after beating Hugh Clarke, with Jimmy Aggrey missing a golden heading chance at the back post.
TNS were rarely troubled at the back by an unambitious Caersws, although Gerard Doherty was on his toes to push away a 25-yard free-kick from Sean Jehu.
Saints' boss Ken McKenna said: "We've been the side that's come here to win it - they're supposed to be going for the title, but they were more than happy to settle for a draw.
"I thought we were the better side, we played some good football and just needed a better final ball," he added.
Referee: P Thomas

None None
Starting line-ups
Andy Mulliner
Andrew Thomas
Sean Jehu
Colin Reynolds
Hugh Clarke
Geraint Lewis
Chris Venables
Andrew Marfell
Graham Evans
Graham Jones
Andrew Davies
Gerard Doherty
Martyn Naylor
Steve Evans
Jimmy Aggrey
Tommy Holmes
Scott Ruscoe
Barry Hogan
John Leah
Marc Lloyd Williams
Michael Wilde
Jamie Wood
Dylan McPhee
Neil Mitchell
Neville Thompson
Rob Ablewhite
Chris King
Chris Taylor
Tyson Eyo
John Toner
Neil Mitchell -> Graham Evans (42)
Dylan McPhee -> Geraint Lewis (80)
Neville Thompson -> Neil Mitchell (80)
Chris King -> Martyn Naylor (13)
John Toner -> Jamie Wood (79)
Chris Venables (29) John Leah (84)
Steve Evans (90)
None None
Powered by tplSoccerStats 2.2 © 2003 TPL Design
NOTE: For comparison purposes, teams are referred to throughout all seasons by their current names.
Substitute minutes of 99 indicate actual times not known.
NEWI Cefn Druids played as Flexsys Cefn Druids prior to 2003/4.
Port Talbot Town played as Port Talbot Athletic prior to 2001/2.
Total Network Solutions played as Llansantffraid FC prior to 1997/8.
Match-by-match player stats for season 1993/4 are largely unavailable.
The Soccerlinks Hit List