Saints-Alive! The Total Network Solutions Football Club website
Match report and stats
Change:  Move to:
Feb 5th 2005 at 14:30 Treflan Attendance 511
Total Network Solutions
2 - 1
Bangor City
Match report WELSH CUP / 4th Round

Scott Ruscoe stoops to head Saints' last minute winner
Click for more photos
Ruscoe heads TNS into last eight

A LAST minute header from Scott Ruscoe put TNS into the last eight of the Welsh Cup, with a 2-1 success against Bangor City.
But as expected it was a tight affair, although the Saints exerted most of the pressure, especially in the first-half.
After Les Davies had fired wide early on, Bangor's defence and keeper Phil Priestley kept out two Marc Lloyd-Williams efforts, with the City keeper also on producing a flying stop from John Toner.
Saints also had a valid penalty shout ignored when Peter Hoy clearly handled in preventing another Lloyd-Williams effort.
TNS stopper Gerard Doherty had to be alert and was forced to save with his feet from Paul Roberts after the striker had eluded Steve Evans to break through.
Doherty also made an important double save after Bangor had pressed from a corner.
All the goals came after the break, with substitute John Lawless sparking the breakthrough for the Saints after 66 minutes.
He combined well with Chris King down the left and his cross was helped on by Barry Hogan for Jamie Wood to force into the box, Mike Wilde sending an angled 12-yard drive across Priestley and into the far corner.
But Bangor were far from done and dusted and were level again six minutes later when Les Davies won the ball and linked with Owain Jones who provided for Roberts to cleverly evade his overhead kick hit Doherty's post, but the TNS pressure paid off with extra-time looming.
King's left-wing cross was nodded back precisely at the far post by Lloyd-Williams for Ruscoe to stoop and head the winner from close range.
Referee: Neil Morgan

Michael Wilde (66)
Scott Ruscoe (90)
Paul Roberts (72)
Starting line-ups
Gerard Doherty
Chris King
Jimmy Aggrey
Steve Evans
Tommy Holmes
Scott Ruscoe
Barry Hogan
Marc Lloyd Williams
Michael Wilde
John Toner
Jamie Wood
Phil Priestley
Clayton Blackmore
Kevin Scott
Peter Hoy
Eifion Jones
Phil Baker
Mark Connnolly
Owain Tudor Jones
Paul Roberts
Tony Gray
Les Davies
Chris Taylor
Steven Beck
John Lawless
Chris Short
Frank Mottram
Paul O'Neill
John Lawless -> John Toner (62)
Frank Mottram -> Tony Gray (29)
None Clayton Blackmore (90)
None None
Powered by tplSoccerStats 2.2 © 2003 TPL Design
NOTE: For comparison purposes, teams are referred to throughout all seasons by their current names.
Substitute minutes of 99 indicate actual times not known.
NEWI Cefn Druids played as Flexsys Cefn Druids prior to 2003/4.
Port Talbot Town played as Port Talbot Athletic prior to 2001/2.
Total Network Solutions played as Llansantffraid FC prior to 1997/8.
Match-by-match player stats for season 1993/4 are largely unavailable.